Theyre coming for it next week. The shipping company that is. Theyre picking up the Ferrari taking the keys putting it inside a trailer and transporting it far away to a new owner thus bringing to an end my childhood dream of owning a Ferrari. I should be downtrodden; dismayed; depressed. I should take time to gaze at it longingly during the last few days before its departure. I should take it on one final drive with tears welling up in my eyes. I should be browsing AutoTrader for a new one. The simple truth is that owning a Ferrari for the last year just wasnt all its cracked up to be. Regular readers of my Jalopnik columns wont be surprised to hear this as Ive complained about the car more than Ive praised it. But Ive decided to sum up my experience with one more column that addresses exactly why the childhood dream didnt live up to the adult reality. Now before I get started I want to stress that owning this car didnt work for me but its important to remember that my experiences arent universal. Some people love these cars and enjoy these cars and wouldnt own anything else and despite my complaints I would love to have another one someday. But from my perspective this car was a disappointment and heres why. Lets start with the thing that annoyed me most: the attention. As far as I can tell most Ferrari buyers fall precisely into two camps: those who buy the car for the attention and those who buy the car for the driving experience. Admittedly theres some crossover but you can usually distinguish the Lets go on a mountain drive people from the Lets wrap it in neon gold and cruise up and down busy streets crowd. As for me I prefer the driving experience: few things in life sound more appealing than an uninterrupted hour in the car going through the gears hearing the sounds negotiating curves and staring at the engine through the rearview mirror. But when youre driving a bright red Ferrari uninterrupted isnt really possible. At every light the guy next to you will ask what it cost. At every gas station a guy in a Chevy pickup will come over and ask if you wanna trade? People will want to take pictures of it next to it and in it. Kids want you to rev so they can put a video on YouTube. And no matter where you drive it everyone goes a little faster when theyre near you eager to prove that they can keep up whether theyre driving a Subaru or a Porsche. And over the last year Ive indulged every single person with a big smile. The guy who wants to know what it costs gets to sit inside. The guy who asks if I want to trade gets to see the engine up close. Kids get rides parent permitting. And if anyone wants to take a picture with it I grab their camera and invite them to sit behind the wheel. But it gets tiresome. And every so often when Im thinking about taking out the Ferrari for an hour or so Ill pause for a moment and remember the attention. And Ill fire up Forza and drive a Ferrari there instead. Now I shouldnt say that I dont like attention on the road. In fact I loved it when people would approach me at gas stations restaurants or stoplights when I was driving my E63 AMG wagon or my CTS-V wagon. But thats because those were car people eager to discuss one of the most unusual and most subtle cars on the road. In the Ferrari its everyone coming at you from all sides asking personal questions about how I can afford it and what it cost and what I do for a living. After a while it simply gets old. Then theres the issue of actually driving it. A lot of car enthusiasts make fun of Ferrari owners since the typical car only covers about 2000 or 3000 miles a year. In the last year I put just over 5000 miles on mine and I discovered the reason why most Ferrari owners are so sparing with their mileage: these cars are difficult to drive. One reason is simply time. A few months ago a friend perfectly summed up this car to me: its a Point A to Point A car. In other words: this isnt a car you use to go somewhere. Its a car you take out of your house and drive around for a while before you return to your house. You dont go to the mall in it. You dont take it to dinner. You cant pick up anything large and you cant transport more than one person. Its not a vehicle you use. Its a toy to be played with. And therein lies the problem: most Ferrari owners dont get to the point of owning a Ferrari by having large blocks of free time they can devote to aimlessly driving around for several hours. So the cars sit and sit and sit except for that one weekend in between business trips when the weather is nice and the wife and kids are at the museum and the house is clean and the car is in good working order. As you might imagine this only happens a few times a year. Roughly two thousand miles worth I suspect. Read more:http://jalopnik.com/owning-a-ferrari-for-a-year-was-a-disappointment-1668355120 We buy any car so contact us for a quote The post Owning A Ferrari For A Year Was A Disappointment appeared first on http://dublin.cashforcarsireland.com/ via Cash For Cars - Locations http://dublin.cashforcarsireland.com/owning-ferrari-year-disappointment/